DIY Natural dish soap

4 A good friend had asked me awhile back if I had ever made my own dish soap….

I had never tried it before, I would take my laundry soap mix and sometimes use it to wash our dishes, only if I had run out of our regular dish soap. It worked O.K but I would never use it on a daily bases.  So, I really wanted to give dish soap a try. I researched a lot of different DIY recipes online and finally found one that I liked.  Funny thing is, I can not find it again to give you the link. I just wrote the recipe down on scrap paper.

I doubled up the recipe and tried it out. I’m very impressed with how well this cleans the dishes to a shine. It has a bit of bubble  (I like) and the best part is that my sink looks extra clean after all my dishes are done. I have always had to scrub out my sinks with Comet after. I know, I know…… This is on my next DIY list.  Make my own natural comet cleanser.

What I didn’t like was how runny it was.  Glycerin in this recipe is optional so I did not use it. I added Lemon Eucalyptus to my first batch and found it way to strong of a smell for me. I like this scent, but not all day leaning over my sink.

It is best to use antibacterial essential oils like Lemon, Eucalyptus, Sweet orange, Geranium and Lavender.

Here is the 2nd try with my very own recipe.

6

Ingredients:

1 Cup of Soap flakes

4 Cups of water

2 Tablespoons of Washing Soda

3 Tablespoons of Vinegar

1 teaspoon of Lemon and 1 teaspoon of Sweet Orange essential oils.

Instructions

  1. Add grated soap to water, bring to a boil and stir until dissolved.
  2. Add washing soda to the soap mix and stir. Turn off heat and cool down.
  3. Add vinegar and stir.
  4. Let mixture cool completely, then add essential oils.
  5. Transfer to re purposed soap dispenser and use as regular dish soap.

5

Please note that this dish soap will thicken within a few hours. I was very surprised with this but it’s due to the washing soda. If you find it too thick, just add some warm water to the soap and shake it up. You can adjust the amount of washing soda you want to use.

5 thoughts on “DIY Natural dish soap

  1. sounds great and better then the recipes I was looking at, probably why I hadn’t make it yet !
    Will try tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

