Not Quite Grounded

This has been the hardest year for me, “my soul to speak”.

The first day Henry and I met over 12 years ago, we dreamed of having our own land and home in the forest. We would take long walks everyday throughout Edmonton trails and back allies, picking all kinds of flowers and weeds. Henry talked about each of them, teaching me their names and useful things one could do with all of them. I was sold on the wonders of such things from that moment. We planted our first herb garden together from seeds and watched it grow.

Trips to many greenhouses, Henry bought me many books about herbs and dried flowers, we would have long talks about one day taking those herbs and planting them on our very own land.

I dove into hanging and drying everything. Turning them into dried arrangements, bath products and such. Adding them into handmade paper, fragrant sachets, gifts for Christmas for everyone.

We moved many times in Edmonton. We dug up our herbs, leaving a little behind for the next, and replanted them again. Those herbs are no longer ours and left behind as we could not bring them to Cape Breton.

ap

We have been here in Cape Breton for 3 years now. Each Mother’s Day and Birthdays I only ask for seeds and Herbs to start again. I have had no or very little time to garden. Our few herbs are now planted here and there, temporary homes, “not quite grounded”.

c
Soapwort

We did buy that land in the forest last year and it is wonderful. However, I’m feeling a bit left out. Henry is amazing and talented. Clearing some land and building our home with his very own two hands. I long to put my hands to work on what we own. Digging them into our soil and starting a place to grow many things. I’m so antsy but I will need to wait till Spring next year. I have another Birthday coming up soon. It will be a lovely day going to town and picking up more Herbs to place here on our rental land.

I hope some stores have lots left for for me.

Mama

Leave a Reply

